Ce Photographe Brise le Cliché de la “Femme à Chats” Avec Ces Portraits d’Hommes et Leurs Félins

portraits d'hommes et de chats

Il existe deux types de personnes : “à chiens” et “à chats”. Le photographe David Williams capture des hommes qui s’identifient à ce dernier groupe. Son projet intitulé Men & Cats a commencé en 2009 comme un moyen de briser le stéréotype de la “femme à chats.” Williams photographie les hommes chez eux et dans la rue avec leur compagnon félin.

Les images de style documentaire ne sont pas seulement un portrait des gens et des animaux, mais des lieux où ils vivent. De nombreuses scènes présentent des objets liés au chat qui font partie de l’espace qu’ils partagent. Les litières, les jouets et les œuvres d’art liées aux félins sont tous visibles. “Je voulais montrer que peu importe le sexe, beaucoup de gens ont trouvé la joie que la compagnie de chat peut apporter,” raconte David Williams à Time Out New York. Et, il n’est pas étranger à ce sentiment. Williams vit actuellement à Brooklyn avec son propre chat.

portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat portrait d'un homme et son chat David Williams : Site Web
Remerciements : [Juxtapoz] et [Time Out New York]

Articles Similaires :

Ce Photographe Capture la Ressemblance Indéniable entre Chiens et Humains
Cet Artiste De 75 Ans Commémore Son Chat À Travers Des Jardins Topiaires Géants

Alexia Allard

Alexia Allard est rédactrice collaboratrice pour My Modern Met et traductrice à Londres. On peut souvent la trouver en train de restaurer des meubles anciens, flâner dans les brocantes, ou visiter les monuments historiques anglais.
Devenez membre de
My Modern Met
En tant que membre, vous vous joindrez à notre effort pour soutenir les arts.
Devenir Membre
Découvrez les avantages de l'abonnement

Contenu sponsorisé

Photographer Breaks "Crazy Cat Lady" Stereotype by Featuring Grown Men with Their Adorable Cats

There are "dog" people and there are "cat" people, and photographer David Williams captures men who identify with the latter group. His project titled Men & Cats began in 2009 as a way to break the stereotype of the "crazy cat lady." Williams photographs guys in their homes and on the street with their feline companion close by.

The documentary-style images are not only a portrait of people and animals, but of the places that they live. Many of the scenes feature cat-related items that are part of the space they both share. Litter boxes, toys, and feline-related artwork are all visible. "I wanted to show that regardless of gender, many people have found the joy that cat companionship can bring," Williams tells Time Out New York. And, he's no stranger to this sentiment. Williams currently lives in Brooklyn with his own adorable cat.

David Williams website
via [Juxtapoz and Time Out New York]





December 4, 2016

Adventure Photographer Swims With Millions of Jellyfish

Ever wonder what it would be like to swim with jellyfish? Travel and adventure photographer Kien Lam fulfilled this fantasy by flying across the globe to Jellyfish Lake in Micronesia. Anyone who has been stung by a jellyfish can attest—it’s not a pleasant experience. But Jellyfish Lake in Palau is filled with millions of jellyfish that have evolved in a way that makes it safe for humans to swim in the same waters.

Read Article


December 3, 2016

Adventurous Photographer Treks to Remote Buddhist Village Before It Disappears

If you’re unfamiliar with Larung Gar, it may be because the small, remote town located in a far-flung corner of China has largely stayed out of the tourism spotlight. It is, however, a cultural and historical Tibetan treasure that has been undergoing tremendous changes in the past few decades, particularly in the midst of global controversy between Tibet and China.

Read Article


Get Our Weekly Newsletter