Home / Art

Artist Reimagines "Star Wars" Cast as Beloved "Winnie the Pooh" Characters

Fans of Star Wars and Winnie the Pooh, it's time to welcome Wookie the Chew–an adorable mashup of the two pop culture icons. Florida-based artist James Hance has combined the beloved books by A.A. Milne and the wildly popular films of George Lucas into crossover illustrations that reimagine Pooh as a younger, less ornery version of Chewbacca.

Hance's whimsical series includes other characters from the Star Wars universe, including: Han Solo as Winnie the Pooh‘s Christopher Robin, and a gloomy Eeyore who has taken the form of an Imperial Walker (AT-AT)–it even has a bow tied around its tail.

Each of these artworks recall the illustrative stylings of artist E.H. Shepard, who is best known for drawing the Pooh characters that we still cherish today. Although Hance has shifted their likeness, Milne's timeless stories infuse the Star Wars drama with sweet displays of love and friendship.

Hance's original drawings are available in his Etsy shop. For more Wookie and the Chew merchandise (including a book), check out his website called Relentlessly Cheerful Art.

James Hance: Website | Etsy
via [Bored Panda]

Sara Barnes

Sara Barnes is a Staff Editor at My Modern Met and Manager of My Modern Met Store. As an illustrator and writer living in Seattle, she chronicles illustration, embroidery, and beyond through her blog Brown Paper Bag and Instagram @brwnpaperbag. She wrote a book about embroidery artist Sarah K. Benning titled 'Embroidered Life' that was published by Chronicle Books in 2019. Sara is a graduate of the Maryland Institute College of Art. She earned her BFA in Illustration in 2008 and MFA in Illustration Practice in 2013.
Become a
My Modern Met Member
As a member, you'll join us in our effort to support the arts.
Become a Member
Explore member benefits

Sponsored Content