February 21, 2020

Artist Imagines Fantastical World Where Giant Animals Live Peacefully Among Humans

Have you ever wished you had a big cuddly companion like Studio Ghibli’s Totoro? Or perhaps a fierce protector like Moro, the god of the wolves in Princess Mononoke? Well, though you can live out your dreams in real life, you can feed your fantasy with Japanese artist Monokubo’s imaginative art. The whimsical, animated characters from the Studio Ghibli films are the inspiration behind her giant animal illustrations.

Read Article


February 20, 2020

Glass Artists Craft Stunning Memorial Sculptures From the Cremated Remains of Deceased Loved Ones

The ways in which to physically memorialize a loved one have changed over time. In recent years, it’s become more common to remember someone not through a gravesite, but by using their remains to fertilize a tree or turning them into treasured art objects. Spirit Pieces is an online memorial arts gallery that specializes in commemorating those lost by encasing the cremation ash of people (or pets) into striking glass sculptures.

Read Article


February 20, 2020

Photographer Discovers Three “Dancing” Bear Cubs Having Fun in Finnish Forest

Dancing bears seem like something out of a fairy tale, but teacher and photography enthusiast Valtteri Mulkahainen found the magical scene happening in real life. Upon exploring the Finnish forest near the town of Martinselkonen, he saw a bear and her three cubs walking to a clearing. “I hid and watched to see what they would do,” he tells My Modern Met.

Read Article


February 19, 2020

There’s a Jason Momoa Coloring Book for Adults Who Love an “Epic Dreamboat”

Fans of Game of Thrones and Aquaman actor Jason Momoa can now pick up a coloring book that features the Hawaiian star in fantastical and romantic illustrations. The adult coloring book, entitled Crush and Color: Jason Momoa, lets admirers immerse themselves in “more than 35 completely unique life-like drawings of the rugged dreamboat” as he takes on several rigorous or relaxing activities.

Read Article