Celebs Are Using Photos of Themselves to Represent Each Month of 2020 in Funny Meme

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

Let’s face it: 2020 has been a year and we’re not even three-quarters of the way through it. Memes are helping to sum up our collective angst, and few do it better than the one recently introduced by Reese Witherspoon. In a meme that she’s calling the #2020challenge (aka the COVID Calendar), the format comprises nine boxes in which each square is a different month (January–September). Using stills of herself from her different movie roles, she assigns a “mood” to each of the months. As you’d expect, things in January start with the optimism of a new decade—Witherspoon likens it to a bright and optimistic vision of Elle Woods from Legally Blonde—and the following months descend into confusion, fear, and exhaustion, the last of which is perfectly illustrated by her portrayal of Cheryl Strayed in the film Wild.

While the #2020challenge meme might sound utterly depressing, the recognition of it via Witherspoon’s greatest roles is both funny and cathartic. It also caught on among other actors and celebrities, and they copied the format and replaced it with their own projects. Mindy Kaling soon followed Witherspoon's lead, starting with her dressed in award show glam for January and ending with September as Kelly Kapoor (from The Office) when she endured an awful diet cleanse. With each iteration of the meme, it has you saying, “Yeah, same.”

Scroll down for more celebrities—from Kerry Washington to Mark Ruffalo—taking part in the #2020challenge meme.

Actors and celebrities are expressing their 2020 angst in the #2020challenge meme started by Reese Witherspoon.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on

Many choose to do it with their acting roles, while others use photos of themselves (including selfies).

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kerry Washington (@kerrywashington) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mark Ruffalo (@markruffalo) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by VIOLA DAVIS (@violadavis) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Michelle Pfeiffer (@michellepfeifferofficial) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Naomi Watts (@naomiwatts) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by January Jones (@januaryjones) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Zooey Deschanel (@zooeydeschanel) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Natasha Lyonne (@nlyonne) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kate Beckinsale (@katebeckinsale) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kyle MacLachlan (@kyle_maclachlan) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Josh Gad (@joshgad) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kristin Chenoweth (@kchenoweth) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Sarah Michelle (@sarahmgellar) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jennifer Garner (@jennifer.garner) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Karlie Kloss (@karliekloss) on

This one isn't created by Toni Colette herself, but it is spot on!

Related Articles:

Newborn Baby With a Face Full of Attitude Becomes Viral Meme

Funny Art History Memes Imagine Historical Generals Pointing Out the Nearest Toilet

This High School Senior Class Dressed Up in Costume for Their School ID Photos

Sara Barnes

Sara Barnes is a Staff Editor at My Modern Met and Manager of My Modern Met Store. As an illustrator and writer living in Seattle, she chronicles illustration, embroidery, and beyond through her blog Brown Paper Bag and Instagram @brwnpaperbag. She wrote a book about embroidery artist Sarah K. Benning titled 'Embroidered Life' that was published by Chronicle Books in 2019. Sara is a graduate of the Maryland Institute College of Art. She earned her BFA in Illustration in 2008 and MFA in Illustration Practice in 2013.

Want to become a My Modern Met Member?

Find out how by becoming a Patron. Check out the exclusive rewards, here.

Sponsored Content